MEDINA COUNTY SMALL ESTATES AFFIDAVIT CHECKLIST

Texas Estates Code Chapter 205 dealing with Small Estates Affidavits often generates much confusion. Banks, insurance companies, and title companies often tell individuals to file a Small Estates Affidavit (SEA) without considering the limited circumstances in which an SEA can be granted. Individuals then fill out a form without reading the statute and without understanding Texas Intestacy law. They pay \$360 filing fee (plus citation \$8/posting fee \$30) and expect approval. But many SEAs are denied for problems that cannot be corrected, and the denied applicants lose their filing fees. Many other SEAs cannot be approved without amendment.

Before filing an SEA, carefully review this checklist and the attached charts regarding Texas rules for who takes what property when the decedent didn't have a will (rules for descent and distribution). See also the requirements for SEAs in Chapter 205 of the Texas Estates and the rules for descent and distribution in Chapter 201. To prepare an SEA that the Court can approve, you need to understand all of the rules and requirements. The complexity of the Code poses many pitfalls for non-lawyers – and even some lawyers – attempting to comply with the requirements. An attorney's assistance in drafting an SEA may prevent the denial of an Affidavit that might have been approved if the Affidavit had been prepared correctly.

This checklist explains the basics, but that list does not cover everything included in Chapters 201 and 205.

- 1. Use the most recent SEA form on Medina County Clerk's Website (coming soon). To increase chances that an SEA will include all necessary information, the Court requires that applicants use the SEA form that is available on the Court's website. If necessary, include extra pages to provide additional information. The SEA must be completed by persons who have actual knowledge of the stated facts.
- 2. **Death Certificate.** A death certificate is to be filed with the filing of an SEA. An easily readable copy is fine. Cross out the Social Security number.
- 3. Cannot be filed within 30 days of Decedent's death. (Wait long enough to be sure you have all bills.)
- 4. **County where Decedent resided.** An SEA should be filed in the county where Decedent resided if Decedent had a domicile or fixed place of residence in Texas. If that is not in Medina County, add facts to support venue in Medina County.
- 5. No Will. By statute, an SEA cannot be used where Decedent left a will. Applicants must swear that the Decedent died without a will. If Decedent had a will, you will need to use a different probate procedure.
- 6. No Administration. An SEA cannot be approved if a petition for the appointment of a personal representative is pending or has been granted or if it appears that an administration is needed.
- 7. Decedent's Estate Assets.
 - List everything. The SEA must list all of Decedent's known estate assets not just some. Assets are any property owned that has monetary value, including cash or bank accounts, real estate, vehicles, and household furnishings.
 - Indicate value. An SEA cannot be approved with any assets of "unknown value."
 - Limited estate. The SEA must show that the total estate assets are \$75,000.00 or less, not including the homestead (see below) and exempt property (see below).
 - **Provide sufficient detail.** Describe each asset with enough detail to make it clear exactly what property is being transferred by Affidavit. For example, give VIN numbers for cars and give the last four digits of any account numbers, along with the name of the bank or entity holding funds.
 - Exempt property. If decedent is survived by a spouse, minor children, or unmarried adult children who lived with decedent, the list of known estate assets must indicate which assets you claim are exempt. If you claim any assets are exempt, add this information in the "additional information" column on the SEA form. Exempt assets are those that are exempt from forced execution under Chapter 42 of the Texas Property Code and that would be eligible to be set aside under Estates Code Section 353.051 if decedent's estate were being administered. Exempt assets include home furnishings, farm animals, and some other property, as well as decedent's pension benefits and IRAs. Insurance benefits are also exempt. You may want to consult with an attorney regarding which assets are exempt.
 - If Decedent was married at the date of death, you must also add the following in the "additional information" column on the SEA form:

- State whether each asset was Decedent's community property or Decedent's separate property (see definitions on the form).
- ✓ For each asset, give the facts that explain why the asset was community property or separate property. For real property, indicate the <u>date</u> the real property was acquired, in addition to other facts.
- Real property: homestead to homestead. The only real property that can be transferred by an SEA is Decedent's homestead property. Even then, real property cannot be transferred by an SEA unless the real property will be inherited only by an heir who was homesteading with the Decedent at the time Decedent died a surviving spouse or unmarried child of Decedent who resided on property with Decedent. If this the case, the SEA must include sufficient facts to support the homestead exemption and must also include the legal description and street address of the property.

8. Decedent's Debts / Liabilities.

- List everything. The SEA must list all of Decedent's debts and other liabilities, including all credit card balances, doctor or hospital bills, utility bills, etc. – anything owed by Decedent or Decedent's estate and not paid off. The SEA must list any attorney's fees paid or to be paid for preparation of the Affidavit. If attorney's fees are not listed as an estate liability, whoever paid the fees is responsible for those fees; the SEA will not have the estate reimburse that person for those fees. If there are no debts or liabilities, indicate "none".
- **Provide sufficient detail.** Indicate the amount of each liability as precisely as possible, describing the debt or other liability with sufficient detail so that it is clear who the creditor is. Also indicate at least the last four digits of any known account numbers.
- 9. Solvent. The total of estate assets not including homestead and exempt property must exceed the total of known liabilities (not including debts secured by homestead and exempt property). If they do not, the SEA must be denied. Distributees can pay off enough debts that the assets exceed the remaining liabilities.
- Medicaid. The SEA must indicate whether the Decedent applied for and received Medicaid benefits on or after March 1, 2005. If so, Applicant must either (1) list as a liability the amount owed to Medicaid or (2) file a Medicaid Estate Recovery Program (MERP) certification that Decedent's estate is not subject to a MERP claim or (3) include additional information proving that a MERP claim will not be filed. For more information, see https://hhs.texas.gov/sites/default/files//documents/services/aging/txmerpcertificationform.pdf
- 11. **Family History**. The SEA must state the facts about Decedent's marital and family history in sufficient detail to show both who inherits Decedent's property under Texas law as well as the shares of those heirs under Texas law. Section K of the Court's SEA form will lead you through the appropriate questions, except for relatively unusual situations, as long as you fill out the form carefully and *completely*.
- 12. List all heirs. After you have filled out section K of the form completely, figure out the heirs and list them in section L of the form.
 - To figure out who the heirs are, look at the carts on pages 4-6 of this handout, which summarize Texas as rules regarding descent and distribution based on Texas Estate Code Chapter 201. Decide which of the following four charts applies to Decedent, and then look at *everything* included in that chart:
 - ✓ Married Person with Child[ren] or Other Descendants
 - ✓ Married Person with No Child or Descendant
 - ✓ Unmarried Person with Chil[ren] or other Descendants
 - ✓ Unmarried Person with No Child or Descendant
 - In section L, list the name, address, phone number, and email address of every Distributee (heir) of Decedent's estate. If Decedent was married, you must list heirs for every type of property, even if you do not think there was any property of a particular type.
- 13. Minor heirs. The Medina County Court at Law will not approve an SEA with a minor heir unless all estate assets the minor heir(s) will inherit can be placed in the registry of the Court until the heir turns 18.
- 14. List correct inheritance shares. In "L" of the Court's approved SEA form, you must list the shares of each Distributee in every possible type of property. In every SEA, fill out both "separate property" columns. Always

fill out the "community property" column if the Decedent was married when he or she died. To figure out shares, see the appropriate chart on pages 4-6 of this handout.

- If Decedent was married at the date of death, the SEA must state the shares of each Distributee in all three types of property: separate personal property, separate real property, and Decedent's share of the community property. (The surviving spouse will retain his or her own share of the community property.) It is not sufficient to say that there was no separate property or no separate real property.
- If Decedent was single at the date of death, there is no community property. Put "NA" in the community property column.
- 15. Signed and sworn to by all Distributees.
 - If you need more than one signature page, use as many signature pages as needed, but note that every signature page must include all the italicized, boxed statements regarding what the Distributees are swearing or affirming, what the Distributees are requesting, and what those who sign the Affidavit couold be liable for. See the italicized paragraphs in the box above the Distributees' signature lines on the Court's SEA form (at the top of page 7 of the pdf version of the form).
 - Every Distributee who has legal capacity must sign and swear to the Affidavit before a notary.
 - Is there a minor or otherwise incapacitated Distributee? If warranted by the facts, the natural guardian or next of kin of any minor Distributee or the guardian of any other incapacitated Distributee may sign and swear to the Affidavit on behalf of the minor or otherwise incapacitated Distributee. The fact that someone is singing and swearing on behalf of someone else must be clear from the signature.
 - ✓ For a minor, if SEA Section K does not show why the person has the authority to sign on the minor's behalf, provide proof the person signing for the minor is the minor's natural guardian or next of kin.

✓ For an otherwise incapacitated Distributee, provide letters of guardianship as proof that the person signing has authority to do so.

- Is there a Distributee who survived Decedent, but who is now deceased? If no personal representative has been appointed for a now deceased Distributee, you cannot use the Small estates Affidavit probate procedure and must file an Application to Determine Heirship. If a personal representative has been appointed, the personal representative can sign on behalf of the now-deceased Distributee's estate. In that case, the fact that the personal representative is signing on behalf of the estate must be clear from the signature. In addition, you must provide Letters Testamentary or Letters of Administration as proof that the person signing has authority to do so.
- Is there a missing Distributee? If you do not know where to find a Distributee, you cannot use the Small Estate Affidavit probate procedure and must file an Application to Determine Heirship. Note that an Application for determination of heirship must be represented by an attorney.
- 16. Sworn to by two disinterested witnesses: Two disinterested witnesses must each sign and swear to the Affidavit before a notary. These witnesses must be able to swear to all of the facts included in the SEA, not only the family history facts. Disinterested witnesses are witnesses who have no interest in Decedent's estate and who do not inherit from Decedent under the laws of descent and distribution of the State of Texas. As notes in the boxed, italicized statement on the SEA form above each disinterest witness's signature, these witnesses along with the Distributees are liable for any damage or loss to any person that arises from a payment, delivery, transfer, or issuance made in reliance on the affidavit.
- 17. **Possible hearing:** the Court usually does not require a hearing on SEA applications, but in some circumstances, the Court may require a hearing before a SEA will be approved. If a hearing is needed, the Court will contact you. Do not Set a hearing unless the Court has asked to do so.

Texas Descent and Distribution¹

The Legal Effect of Not Having a Will (for decedents dying after 9/1/1993)

1. Married Person with Child[ren] or Other Descendants

A. Decedent's separate personal property (all that is not real property) (EC § 201 002(b))



B. Decedent's separate real property (EC § 201.002(b))



All separate real property will be owned outright by decedent's child[ren] or other descendants when surviving spouse dies.



¹ The charts in this handout illustrate the general rules of descent and distribution under Texas law. In addition to the statutory references noted throughout, see the following Texas Estates Code (EC) provisions, among others: § 201.101, Determination of Per Capita with Representation Distribution (fka per stirpes); § 201.051 et seq., Matters Affecting Inheritance (including Adoption [§ 201.054] and Collateral Kindred of Whole and Half Blood [§ 201.057]); Advancements, §§ 201.151 & 201.152; and Requirement of Survival by 120 Hours, §§ 121.052 & 121 053 (see also §§ 121.151-121.153).

2. Married Person with No Child or Descendant

A. Decedent's separate personal property (all that is not real property) (EC § 201.002(c)(1))



B. Decedent's separate real property (EC § 201.002)



C. Decedent's share of community property (EC § 201.003(b)(1))



3. Unmarried Person with Child[ren] or Other Descendants (EC § 201.001(b))



4. Unmarried Person with No Child or Descendant



All property passes depending on who survived the decedent:¹

¹ If none of the four situations above applies, see EC § 201.001(f)-(h).

CAUSE NO	
ş	IN THE COUNTY COURT
§	
	§ OF
§	
§	MEDINA COUNTY, TEXAS
	5 5 5

Small Estate Affidavit

On the dates indicated below, all of the Distributees of this estate and two disinterested witnesses personally appeared and, on their oath, did swear or affirm to the accuracy of the following facts, pursuant to Chapter 205 of the Texas Estates Code:

- A. Decedent, _____, died on the _____ day of _____, 20 _____ in _____County, Texas. A copy of Decedent's death certificate will be filed in this cause number at the time this Affidavit is filed.
- B. More than 30 days have elapsed since Decedent's death.
- C. Decedent was resident of and domiciled in ______ County, Texas, at the time of Decedent's death. [If not Medina County, the affidavit must include facts supporting venue in Medina County.]
- D. Decedent died without a will.
- E. No administration is pending or has been granted in Decedent's estate and none appears necessary.
- F. The value of the entire assets of the estate of Decedent, not including homestead and exempt property, does not exceed \$75,000.00.
- G. The value of the entire assets of the estate of Decedent, not including homestead and exempt property, exceeds the known liabilities.
- H. Medicaid check the accurate box:

The Decedent did not apply for and receive Medicaid benefits on or after March 1, 2005

<u>OR</u>

Decedent did apply for and receive Medicaid benefits on or after March 1, 2005, and the Medicaid Estate Recovery Program claim is listed as a liability in section "J" below.

<u>OR</u>

□ The Decedent did apply for and receive Medicaid benefits on or after March 1, 2005, but there is no Medicaid claim against the estate. [If this box is checked, applicant(s) must either (1) file a Medicaid Estate Recovery Program (MERP) certification that decedent's estate is not subject to a MERP claim or (3) include additional information proving that a MERP claim will not be filed.]

I. All assets of the Decedent's estate and their values are listed here.

NOTE: Community property is property acquired during marriage other than by gift or inheritance. **Separate property** is property owned before marriage or acquired by gift or inheritance during marriage.

		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
Description of Asset(s)	Value	Additional Information
List with enough detail to identify exactly what the		If exempt property, so indicate.
asset is. For example , give bank name and last four		If decedent was married, indicate:
digits of account number; give life insurance		1.whether each asset was community or separate property,
company name; give description of car plus VIN		and
number; give address & legal description of real		2. <u>facts</u> that explain why the asset was community or separate
property		Use additional pages as necessary.
		and a second sec

(Continue list as necessary. If list is continued on another page, please note.)

J. All liabilities/debts of the Decedent's estate and their values are listed here. The affidavit must list **all** of Decedent's debts and other liabilities including all credit card balances, doctor and hospital bills, utility bills, etc. – **everything** owed by Decedent or Decedent's estate and not paid off.

If none, write "none."

If funeral debts or attorney's fees and expenses will be paid from estate assets, list them here:

Description of Liabilities / Debts: List with enough detail to identify the creditor & any account.	Balance Due
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·

(Continue list as necessary. If list is continued on another page, please note.)

If you did not list attorney's fees as a liability above but one or more distributes have paid or will pay attorney's fees for this small estate affidavit, indicate the amount of those fees here: \$______. Also indicate who has paid or will pay the fees: ______.

K. The following facts regarding Decedent's family history show who is entitled to what share of Decedent's estate, to the extent that the assets of Decedent's estate, exclusive of homestead and exempt property, exceed the liabilities of Decedent's estate. [Put Check marks in the appropriate small boxes, and provide additional information as indicated.]

Family History #1: Marriage.

□ On the date of Decedent's death, Decedent was a single person.

<u>OR</u>

On the date of Decedent's death, decedent was married to _____.

The date they were married:

Family History #2: Children.

 Decedent had no children by birth or adoption, and Decedent did not take any children into Decedent's home to raise as a child. (Skip to Family History #4 if you check this box.)
OR

The following children were born to or adopted by Decedent. List <u>all</u> children, whether or not the child is still alive and whether or not parental rights were later terminated. If parental rights were terminated for any child, give detail on separate page(s).

Child's Name	Birth date, if known	Name of child's other parent

(Continued list as necessary. If list is continued on another page, please note.)

Family History #3: Children, part 2. Answer if Decedent has any children.

□ All of Decedent's children, by birth or adoption, were alive when decedent dies.

OR

□ The Following of Decedent's children, by birth or adoption, died before the Decedent's **death and were** survived by children (or grandchildren or great-grandchildren):

Name of deceased child (followed by the name of the deceased child's other parent in parentheses)	Date child died	Names of all children of the deceased child (if any of these children died before Decedent, use a separate page to give detail, plus names & birthdates of all grandchildren

(Continue list as necessary. If list is continued on another page, please note.)

AND/ OR

□ The following of Decedent's children, by birth or adoption, died before the Decedent's death and were not survived by any children, grandchildren, or great-grandchildren:

Name of deceased child	Date child died
ontinue list as necessary. If list is continued on another pa	ge. please note.)

If Decedent was survived by any children, grandchildren, or great-grandchildren, you do not need to answer Family History #4 about Parents or Family History#5 about Sisters and Brothers. You may skip to "L" (following #5).

Family History #4: Parents.		
The Decedent was survived by both parents,		(mother)
And (father).		
OR		
Decedent was survived by only one parent		· .
Decedent's other parent,	, died on	•
OR		
Both of Decedent's parents died before Decede	ent's death.	

Family History #5: Sisters and Brothers.

The following information about Decedent's sisters and brothers is <u>not</u> needed if Decedent was survived by both parents <u>or</u> by children, grandchildren, or great-grandchildren.

□ The following are all of Decedent's brothers and sisters **who were alive on the date Decedent died**, including half-brothers and half-sisters who were born to *either* of Decedent's parents. If none, write "none." If any of the following are not deceased, indicate date of death.

Name of brother or sister	State whether full or half sibling	Birth date

(Continue list as necessary. If list is continued on another page, please note.)

AND

□ The following of Decedent's brothers and sisters (including half-brothers and half-sisters who were born to wither of Decedent's parents) **died before Decedent's death**. If none, write "none."

Name of deceased brother or sister (followed by the date of death in parentheses)	Full or half sibling	Names of all children of the deceased brother or sister (nephews and nieces of Decedent) that were alive on the date of Decedent died	Birth dates of nieces & nephews
Continue list as necessary. If list is a	continued	on another page, please note.)	

5

Family History #6: Other.

Fill out a separate page (or pages) if Decedent was survived by <u>none</u> of the following: Spouse, child grandchild, parent, brother, sister, half-brother, half-sister, niece, or nephew. If Decedent was survived by none of the above, list all of the surviving relatives of Decedent on a separate page. Specify Decedent's family history with respect to each of the survivors, giving sufficient detail about names, birth dates, death dates, and relationships to explain how each survivor is related to decedent.

EVERYONE MUST FILL OUT THE FOLLOWING CHART.

Before filling out the chart, see #13 & #15 and pages 4-6 of the Court's Small Estates Affidavit Checklist.

L. Based on the family history given in this Affidavit, the following chart lists all the Decedent's heirs at law, together with their fractional interest in Decedent's estate:

For ea	ch Distributee, list:	Share of	Share of separate real	Share of decedent's
	Name	separate	property (always fill out	community property
2.	Address	personal	this column)	(fill out this column if
3.	Telephone number	property (always		decedent was married)
4.	Email Address	fill out this column)		
	······			

(Continue list as necessary. If list is continued on another page, please note.)

Affidavits and signatures of <u>all</u> Distributee(s).

As needed, include other signature pages for additional distributes.

Every signature page for a distribute must include the box below:

We, As Distributees of the Decedent and as indicated by our signatures below, do solemnly swear or affirm the following:

- The foregoing Affidavit was completed by persons who have actual knowledge of the stated facts;
- All of the facts stated in the foregoing Affidavit are true and complete; and
- Each of us has legal capacity.

We pray that this Affidavit be filed in the records of the Guadalupe County Clerk; that the same be approved by the Court; and that the Clerk issue certified copies of the Affidavit and the order approving it as evidence of Distributees' right to inherit the property of Decedent as described above.

We understand that Estates Code §205.007(c) provides that "[e]ach person who executes[s] [this] affidavit is liable for any damage or loss to any person that arises form a payment, delivery, transfer, or issuance made in reliance on the affidavit."

STATE OF ______ § COUNTY OF ______ §

I am a Distributee in the Estate of _____, Deceased. I

swear or affirm that I have personal knowledge of the facts stated in the foregoing Affidavit and that the facts contained in the Affidavit are true and complete to the best of my knowledge.

Distributee's printed name

Distributee's signature

SWORN TO A	AND SUBSCRIBED before me by		, a Distributee, on
this the	day of	, 20	

(seal)

Notary Public, State of

I am a Distributee in the Estate off ______, Deceased. I swear or affirm that I have personal knowledge of the facts stated in the foregoing Affidavit and that the facts contained in the Affidavit are true and complete to the best of my knowledge.

Distributee's printed name

Distributee's signature

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me by	, a Distributee, on
this the day of	, 20

(seal)

Notary Public, State of

Affidavits and signatures of two disinterested witness

STATE OF ______ § COUNTY OF ______ §

I have no interest in the Estate of ______, Deceased, and am not related to Decedent under the laws of descent and distribution of the State of Texas. I swear or affirm that the facts contained in this Affidavit regarding family history, assets, and liabilities are true and complete to the best of my knowledge.

I understand that the Estates Code § 205.007(c) provides that "[e]ach person who execute[s] [this] affidavit is liable for any damage or loss to any person that arises from a payment, delivery, transfer, or issuance made in reliance of the affidavit."

Disinterested Witness's printed name	Disinterested Witness'	s signature
SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me by witness], disinterested witness, on this the		-
(seal)	Notary Public, State of	·
STATE OF §		
COUNTY OF §		
I have no interest in the Estate of related to Decedent under the laws of descent and a ffirm that the facts contained in this Affidavit rega true and complete to the best of my knowledge. I understand that the Estates Code § 205.007(c) p [this] affidavit is liable for any damage or loss to delivery, transfer, or issuance made in reliance of	distribution of the State o arding family history, ass rovides that "[e]ach perso any person that arises fro	of Texas. I swear or sets, and liabilities are on who execute[s]
dentery, dansier, of issuance made in renance of		
Disinterested Witness's printed name	Disinterested Witness's signature	
SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me by _ witness], disinterested witness, on this the	day of	[name of, 20
(seal)		
	Notary Public, State of	

	No	
Estate of	§	IN THE COUNTY COURT
	§	
	§	AT LAW OF
	8	
DECEASED	Ş	MEDINA COUNTY, TEXAS

Order Approving Small Estates Affidavit

On this day, the Court considered the averments contained in the small estate affidavit filed on ______ by the alleged Distributes(s) of the Estate of ______, Deceased ('the Affidavit"), and the Court finds the following:

- 1. This Court has jurisdiction and venue.
- 2. The Affidavit conforms to the terms of chapter 205 of the Texas Estates Code.
- 3. Based on the Affidavit, this estate qualifies under the provisions of the Estates Code as a Small Estate.
- 4. Pursuant to Texas Estates Code §205.001, the Distributee(s) named in the Affidavit is entitled to receive the property of the Decedent set forth in the Affidavit only to the extent that the assets of the Estate (exclusive of homestead and exempt property) exceed the known liabilities of the Estate (exclusive of liabilities secured by homestead or exempt property).

Nothing in this Order:

- 1. Affects the disposition of property under a will or other testamentary instruments;
- 2. Transfers title to any property of the Decedent not listed in the Affidavit;
- 3. Transfers title to real estate, except to realty that was the homestead of both the Decedent and the Distributee on the date of death (as provided in Texas Estates Code §205.006);
- 4. Deprives any creditor, whether disclosed or not, of any rights in any real or personal property transferred;
- 5. Deprives any heir, whether disclosed or not, of any ownership interest in any real or personal property transferred;
- 6. Establishes the separate or community nature of any property described in the Affidavit;
- 7. Constitutes a judicial determination of the legal heirs of the decedent; or
- 8. Limits the personal liability of the Distributee to any person (including but not limited to undisclosed heirs and any person having a prior right to property of the Estate) for any damage or loss arising from any payment, delivery, transfer, or issuance made in reliance of the Affidavit.

It is **ORDERED** by the Court that the Affidavit in this estate is **APPROVED AS SET OUT ABOVE**.

The Affidavit and this Order will be recorded in the records of the County Clerk, and the Clerk of this Court will issue certified copies of the Affidavit and Order to all persons entitled to them.

Signed this _____ day of _____, 20___.

Presiding Judge